If you have been arrested for DUI, we know you have a lot of things you are worried about. You are worried about how a DUI charge will affect your family, your job, your car insurance premiums. Of course, one of the biggest concerns are the DUI penalties and fines you may be facing.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charges are common in the state of Florida. Our state's law enforcement officers are known to be tough on crime, with DUI arrests and prosecution being no exception. DUI charges are filed when the driver has an unlawful alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or higher. Drivers operating a car, bicycle, or boat can be charged with DUI.
DUI penalties and fines in Florida depend on many factors, including whether it is a first, second, or third offense. Other factors considered in DUI penalties include your Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL), whether the driver was involved in an accident, and if that accident caused death, bodily injury, or property damage.
The following is a basic summary of the DUI penalties in Florida. However, every case is unique and working with an experienced DUI defense attorney helps ensure the best possible outcome for your case. Contact us or call (866) 767-4711 to schedule a free DUI case consultation.
Florida DUI Penalties: First Conviction
· Fine Schedule: Not less than $500, or more than $1,000.
· Fine Schedule with a Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000.
· Imprisonment: Not more than 6-months, or with BAL of .15 or higher not more than 9-months.
· Probation: total period of probation and incarceration may not exceed 1-year.
· Mandatory 50-hours of community service, or additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service required.
Florida DUI Penalties: Second Conviction
· Fine Schedule: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000.
· Fine Schedule with a Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $2,000, or more than $4,000.
· Imprisonment: Not more than 9-months, or with BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle not more than 12-months.
Florida DUI Penalties: Third Conviction
· Fine Schedule more than 10-years from second conviction: Not less than $2,000, or more than $5,000.
· Fine Schedule more than 10-years from second conviction, with a Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $4,000.
· Imprisonment: If the third conviction is within 10-years of the second, there is a mandatory imprisonment of at least 30-days. If the third conviction is more than 10-years after the second, imprisonment for not more than 12-months.
Again, the preceding is a basic summary of the DUI penalties in Florida and does not address all of the possible penalties that could come with a DUI conviction.
For any DUI conviction the court may, at its discretion, allow for credit toward an imprisonment sentence for time served in a residential alcohol or drug abuse treatment program. Click here for the full text of the Florida DUI Statute and penalties.
Need A Florida DUI Defense Attorney?
If you've been charged with a DUI in Florida you need an experienced and compassionate DUI Defense Attorneys on your side. We will ensure your rights are protected and will work diligently to put on a strong defense in your case.
Contact the attorneys at Draper Law Office today (866) 767-4711 or fill out this simple web form. We offer free consultations on all criminal law matters.
Draper Law Office proudly serves clients throughout Central Florida, including Kissimmee, St. Cloud, and Orlando, and Osceola County and Orange County, FL.