NTSB Pursuing Lower Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits in States

Tuesday, June 20, 2017
NTSB Pursuing Lower Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits in States

In Florida a driver can be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) when the driver has an unlawful alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or higher. At present, almost all sates limit a driver's legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) to .08 g/dl.

The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) is pushing for states to lower their blood alcohol concentration limits. The NTSB states: "When it comes to alcohol use, we know that impairment begins well before a person’s BAC reaches 0.08 percent ... In fact, by the time BAC reaches that level, the risk of a fatal crash has more than doubled. That’s why we believe states should lower legal BAC levels to 0.05 percent—or even lower."

The NTSB is pressing to drop the legal BAC limit from 0.08 g/dL down to 0.05 g/dL, or even lower. They argue that while impairment from alcohol begins with the first drink, many drivers do not realize that their driving skills are impaired even with low levels of alcohol.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), alcohol impaired driving fatalities increased by 3.2% from 2015 to 2016. Several countermeasures have already been implemented and shown to reduce alcohol-related accidents. Examples of these countermeasures include:

  • Strengthening laws on drunk driving.
  • High visibility enforcement of DUI laws, including sobriety checkpoints.
  • Use of in-vehicle ignition interlock, which prevents a vehicle from starting if the driver has been drinking.
  • Courts providing a tailored approach that involves treatment and supervision to repeat DUI offenders.

 

DUI Charges in Florida

In Florida you do not have to be caught operating a motor vehicle to be arrested for DUI. The law is such that if you are found to be "in actual physical control of the motor vehicle" then you can be arrested for and charged with DUI. Learn more in our article DUI Charges When Not Actually Driving In Florida.

If you've been charged with a DUI in Florida you need an experienced and compassionate DUI Defense Attorneys on your side. We will ensure your rights are protected and will work diligently to put on a strong defense in your case.

Contact the attorneys at Draper Law Office today (866) 767-4711 or fill out this simple web form. We offer free consultations on all criminal law matters.

 

Draper Law Office proudly serves clients throughout Central Florida, including Kissimmee, St. Cloud, and Orlando, and Osceola County and Orange County, FL.

 
Draper Law Office

6/20/2017

Get Your Case Evaluation Now


Comments


Testimonials

Linda was an exceptional lawyer. This was a divorce from (Hell) and was drug out over more than a year. My Ex's lawyer actually quit. Linda was very professional yet had a really personal touch. She actually felt like a friend through this. I really am glad I chose your law firm and would recommend you to others, especially Linda.