Driver Arrested After Causing DUI Crash
Getting involved in a crash while intoxicated is bad enough. Fleeing the scene and leading police on a chase – complete with helicopters – is even worse and will no doubt get you in a lot of trouble with the law.
A 24-year-old man from Winter Haven is facing multiple criminal charges after crashing into an SUV. The accident occurred on the morning of July 14 on Interstate 4 in Osceola County, near Championsgate.
The man was driving a Chevrolet Malibu on westbound Interstate 4 when he rear-ended a Ford Escape. It is believed the man did not see the SUV in time to avoid the crash. As a result, the Chevy overturned multiple times. It then hit a fence and landed on its roof.
The driver of the Ford — a 42-year-old Lake Wales man — remained at the accident scene. He later went to a local hospital to get treated for minor injuries.
The driver of the Chevy fled the accident scene on foot. The Osceola County Sheriff’s Office used a helicopter to locate the man. They eventually found him and arrested him.
The man faces multiple charges, including DUI, property damage, leaving the scene of an accident, and violation of probation. He also received a ticket for careless driving. He is being held in police custody without bond.
What to Know About DUI in Florida
DUIs are misdemeanors, but they are far from being a minor crime. A DUI conviction in Florida is a permanent public record of conviction. It cannot be expunged from the records, nor can it be sealed from public view. It is permanently accessible to anyone who looks for it, so it’s best to not get one in the first place.
Prosecutors in Florida can convict you of a DUI charge in one of two ways. They must prove that you were driving, or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle, either:
- While under the influence of alcohol or a drug to the degree that your “normal functioning” was impaired, or
- With a blood alcohol content (BAC) measuring 0.08 or above.
DUIs are typically misdemeanor offenses. However, there are situations in which the charge could become an aggravated DUI:
- The BAC is at or above 0.15 (misdemeanor)
- A child was in the car during the DUI offense (misdemeanor)
- The DUI charge involves an accident with minor property damage (misdemeanor)
- The DUI charge involves an accident with serious injury or death (felony)
- This is the third DUI or higher (felony)
Contact Us Today
Car accidents are more likely to occur when a driver is intoxicated. Drinking and driving is against the law but still happens on a regular basis.
No matter how your accident was caused, count on the Kissimmee auto accident lawyers at Draper Law Office for effective legal assistance. We help both native Florida residents as well as out-of-state visitors to the Central Florida area. To schedule a free consultation, fill out the online form or call (407) 743-6628.