Why you Need to See a Doctor as Soon as Possible After your Accident
When you are involved in a car accident, you are advised to seek medical attention for your injury as soon as possible. In fact, you are advised to seek medical attention as soon as you can regardless of whether you think you are injured or not, because there is the chance you are suffering from an invisible injury like a traumatic brain injury. There are numerous reasons why it is in your best interest to head to your doctor in a timely manner after your accident, some of which have to do with your physical recovery. The others have to do with your financial recovery, which can be closely intertwined with your physical recovery.
A Prompt Diagnosis Leads to Effective Treatment
As injuries are left untreated, they can become more severe. This can mean more extensive treatment for you when you finally do receive treatment and in some cases, a less favorable prognosis. By seeking medical care shortly after your accident, you are setting yourself up for the simplest recovery possible.
Timely Treatment will Help to Support your Claim
If you file a personal injury claim, you must demonstrate the following:
- That another party’s negligence caused your accident;
- That the accident directly caused you to be injured; and
- That your current condition is because of the injury you sustained in the accident.
The longer you wait to see a doctor, the more difficult it will be to diagnose your injury. This a big part of the reason why states impose statutes of limitations on personal injury claims. As your body recovers and you potentially suffer new injuries and ailments, it can become difficult to connect an injury to a specific event. After a significant amount of time passes, it can be impossible. By showing that you were proactive and sought medical care right away after your accident, you are not only showing that the injury was directly caused by the accident, you are showing that the injury was severe enough to warrant immediate medical care.
For a PIP Claim, you Must Receive Treatment within 14 Days
In Florida, drivers are required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. Rather than seeking compensation for injury damages from the at-fault driver as injury victims in other states do, Florida drivers who suffer injuries seek compensation from their own insurance providers through PIP claims. But to use this benefit, an injured driver must receive medical attention for his or her injury within 14 days of the accident. Treatment can extend past this 14-day period, but if 14 days pass and the driver has taken no action to receive medical care for the injury, he or she cannot receive PIP compensation.
Our Team at Draper Law Office can Help you Pursue Compensation for your Damages
Learn more about seeking financial compensation for your accident damages by speaking with one of the experienced personal injury lawyers at Draper Law Office. To get started, call us at 866-767-4711 or visit our firm online to schedule your free, no-obligation consultation in one of our three office locations.